General Characteristics of the Department

The department provides instruction in five Slavic languages – Bulgarian, Croatian, Polish, Slovene and Serbian. There are lectorates in the last two. Until the breakup of Yugoslavia, the department taught the Serbo-Croatian language. After that it separated into the independent academic discipline of Croatian and lectorates in the other languages. Today there are accredited study programmes in three Slavic languages: Bulgarian, Croatian and Polish. In the past the department offered double major teaching programmes combining one of the above mentioned three Slavic languages with Slovak or Russian and double major philological programmes combining Slavic studies with Slovak, Russian or librarianship. After 1989 students could also apply for Bohemian studies in combination with history. Every year the department opens at least one translation and interpreting programme either in Bulgarian, Croatian or Polish, mostly in combination with English, German, Romanian, Russian or Italian.